Pan-Fried Salmon Fillet

Oh boy, I never thought I would see this much snow here in North Carolina but it came anyway.

The entire week saw temperatures in the 20s and natives here didn’t quite know how to deal with it. I’ve been following the news and a number of counties have declared it to be a state of emergency. Here, schools have remained shut since Wednesday and most, if not everyone, are being told to stay home and to avoid driving at all costs.

To be honest, I’m not quite sure if I’m still that used to this much ice everywhere. Because our region usually never gets this much precipitation or see temperatures this low, resources are obviously lacking. There were no snow plows, or people shoveling sidewalks or throwing salt on them. Getting from one place to another was a clumsy challenge, which could easily result in accidents.

I’d decided to make a trip to the gym today after spending the past two days indoors. We had a friend stay over so it wasn’t that quiet but I can’t stand the thought of being trapped inside a house for too long. Mark was quite content with staying warm and playing video games inside but I got antsy and restless really fast.

The roads were worse than I’d imagined. I think I had let my car slide along and around corners more than anything else. I wish somebody would just loan us a couple of snow plows and get all this ice out of the way. At one point, I had to have a kind gentleman help me walk along an icy path so I wouldn’t fall. Chivalry isn’t dead after all!

Despite its challenges, wintery days always feel so calming. There’s something so tranquil about falling snow, especially at night. I remember my first winter in Colorado when it snowed and all I could do was stare at each snowflake, mesmerized by each tiny one, before it gently reached the ground.

Mark had chosen to get two large pizzas for dinner last night because I didn’t feel like making a meal and then cleaning up again. So even if there are two large boxes of sinful doughy and cheesy goodness sitting in my refrigerator right now, I told myself I’d pick something better to eat today, just to keep from feeling sluggish again.

I had a little 4 oz. salmon fillet sitting in the freezer so I opted for a small protein-packed lunch. I didn’t get fancy with in but since it had its skin on, I seasoned it and pan-fried it until it was crispy on the outside and juicy and flaky on the inside.

Salmon could possibly be one of my favorite fishes. Even frozen ones taste so good! And they’re loaded with heart healthy fish oils plus are low in calories. I think mine was just about 100 calories per serving. So, not a bad option if you’re on a regimen or thinking of being more conscious of your diet.

Pan-fried Salmon Fillet 

Ingredients:
4 oz. salmon fillet, skin on
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cracked black pepper
1 tsp. dried oregano
1 tsp. paprika
2 tbsp. olive oil
Wedge of lemon for garnish

Directions: 

Sprinkle and rub spices all over the skin of the salmon. Heat oil in a small pan. Place salmon, skin side down, into pan and cook for about 4 to 5 minutes. Flip fish and cook on the other side. Flip again and cook on the side if you prefer it crispier and a little blackened, about 3 minutes.

Insert fork to check if fish is done. Remove from heat. Squeeze lemon juice and serve with brown rice, quinoa, salad or veggie of choice.

Leave a Reply

